From PC to amplifier and back into PC - feedback problems?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Apologies if this sounds like a newbie question – that is because I am a newbie 😊 I suspect that what I want to do here is probably not possible, but I’m asking anyway in case there is some trick I have missed.

The background to this is that I am using PC to stream religious services to Facebook and YouTube; the software is OBS (Open Broadcaster Software) on Windows 10. I have an IP camera feeding into OBS and the audio feed is taken from the headphone socket on the amplifier for the PA system. At the moment, I have a CD player feeding into the amplifier which allows us to play music at various times during the services. For various reasons, I would prefer to play the music from the PC. The problem is that the congregation cannot hear the music doing it that way.

What I had thought about was something like taking the headphone out port on the PC and connecting it into the PA amplifier; my fear that is that it will create a nasty feedback loop with sound from the CD going into the PA system and through the microphones back into the amplifier and OBS. I haven’t physically tried this because I am concerned it might do physical damage to the equipment.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I could get this to work or, as I said at the start, is it just not possible?

Joined 2009
Paid Member
Hi,
Could you detail the hardware used ( pc soundcard, mixer,.. brands and model number) and if you can make a sketch of installation?
Yes you could run into trouble about feedback but there is way to arrange software in your pc (and hardware outside it) for it not to happen.
It will depend of your gear mostly.

Joined 2009
Paid Member