Building a mixer for live vocal FX

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I have been thinking about learning electronics the last year, but today I really got a kick to start learning.

My girlfriend and producer/bandmate is a singer and has been using guitar pedals and kaoss pads live for vocal processing. Today we talked about that it really doesn't exist a mixer that suits her needs.

I'm a 25 year old musician with medium+ soldiering experience and I'm pretty confident that I can learn what I want to learn (in life). But, I need some thoughts about my dream to build the complete vocal FX mixer. I'll list all the things I'd like the mixer to have and then I'd really appreciate if you guys told me your honest opinion if my dream is completely unrealistic or if is workable.

The mixer needs these things:

1. MIC INPUT with 48v phantom power
2. A good clean preamp with about 50-60(?) dB of gain
3. The dream would be a three band EQ with the mid band to be variable.
4. After the EQ, I need it to have two mono sends with pots
5. I need two foot-switch inputs to be able to bypass the sends with a foot.
6. Both of the sends needs stereo recieve inputs.
7. A mix knob for dry wet
8. One left and one right pan pot (like in pro tools)
9. Stereo TRS outputs

Okey. I can see that this is ambitious. And I know about the Radial Voco Loco, but it doesn't have foot switches, which is the unique thing about this (yet to be build) box.

thanks for your time
Reknes

1,2,3,4 all readily available in commercial mixer products. We refer to your mono sends as post EQ Aux sends.

6, 7. stereo returns are also commonly available. And they can be blended in simply.

8,9 again are common