Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

PA Systems A forum for discussion of all parts of a sound reinforcement or DJ system: loudspeakers, mixers (desks) etc.

Custom Mixer
Custom Mixer
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th June 2019, 08:07 PM   #1
johannrenck is offline johannrenck
diyAudio Member

Default Custom Mixer

Hi!, I am a musician that is looking for someone to build a custom mixer for my double bass.

I currently use 3 sources to get an amplified sound out of my instrument:
1) Condenser MIC (Shure PGA81)
2) Piezzo Pickups (Fishman BP-100)
3) Magnetic Pickup (Krivo Pickup for Upright Bass)

My project is to build a mixer, with volume and eq for each channel, that can output a balanced line level and a instrument level one. For the conndenser mic must also provide phantom power and the idea is that it should be portable.

Custom Mixer-unnamed-png

Any tips who could build something like this would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Johann
Attached Images
File Type: png unnamed.png (142.8 KB, 165 views)
Old 20th June 2019, 11:05 PM   #2
ICG is offline ICG  Germany
diyAudio Member

You don't need a custom mixer for that. Get an older analog mixing console (since they are way less expensive than digital ones, actually often dirt cheap) with subgroups. Put each of your sources on the same subgroup. With the faders of each channel/input from your instrument you can adjust the level and with the parametric or semi-parametric eq you can adjust each sound. The level of your instrument to the rest is then adjusted by the subgroup fader. You could also add effects or an external eq by the aux send/return, each of the inputs can be muted separately too if you want to switch back and forth.
Old 20th June 2019, 11:33 PM   #3