Upgrading Band PA system

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here and this is my first post :)

ok so here goes..I play in a 5 piece band (drums, bass, keyboards, guitar & vocals) covering many genres of music (Rock, Jazz, disco, country, blues, pop etc..) so we perform in Pubs, clubs, weddings, corporate functions etc.. I'm looking to upgrade our PA system which consists of 2x15" Alto TS218 subwoofers and 2x TS215 speakers (all active) all running through a Yamaha MGP24x mixer & 5 Mackie thump 15a's for monitors. The band has backline amps but all DI into the desk including drums.

We're happy with the desk and subwoofers but I'd like to initially replace the Alto ts215's. Does anyone have any good suggestions as an alternative good quality PA speaker that could replace the Alto TS215's

I would say that I dont think the Alto speakers have great clarity for vocals etc.. I've heard Yahama's and JBL's reange of speakers and I think they sound clearer. Just wondered what other options there are out there.

Many thanks in advance
Cheers
Dunc

Last edited:

ICG

Disabled Account
Joined 2007
[...] which consists of 2x15" Alto TS218 subwoofers [...]

As the name implies, these are 18" subs.

We're happy with the desk and subwoofers but I'd like to initially replace the Alto ts215's. Does anyone have any good suggestions as an alternative good quality PA speaker that could replace the Alto TS215's

Well, if you don't say what your Altos lack of, there's just guessing.

I would say that I dont think the Alto speakers have great clarity for vocals etc.. I've heard Yahama's and JBL's reange of speakers and I think they sound clearer. Just wondered what other options there are out there.

Did you hear them in an A/B comparison or just at some demo or event? A lot of the sound depends on the guy on the console.