Noob advice on a PA system

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

My daughter is in a band and we have just had donated a PA system for them to use.

It consists of (please bear with me as I am a complete novice)

1 Mackie CFX12 Mixer
1 Amp (Not sure on make)
4 Speakers (Peavey) 2 x big bass 2 x smaller on stands

So far I have 2 basic questions

The speakers use speakon cables and I presume we connect the larger speaker (Bass) to the amp and them connect the smaller speaker to the lager one, is this then running in parrallel and if so which speakon port do i use to do this as both the larger and smaller speakers have 2 speakon ports.

I have researched about using gain to set the levels but is it best that once the gain is set that all the faders should be best set at unity and then control the colume with the amp

I appreciate any help and please excude my lack of knowledge.

Many thanks for your time.

If the crossover is in the bass box, connect the amp to the bass box then up to the mid/top.
Use 1+ and 1- for the connections in your Speakon.
Use the gain controls to 'trim' the required gain giving about 6db headroom before overload then the sliders are your volume controls.
Once the gain is set, any adjustment on the gain control will also adjust any foldback, so leave it alone.
The main slider is your overall volume.
Set the amp volume to about 50% to start with and adjust as needed.

If the crossover is in the bass box, connect the amp to the bass box then up to the mid/top.
Use 1+ and 1- for the connections in your Speakon.
Use the gain controls to 'trim' the required gain giving about 6db headroom before overload then the sliders are your volume controls.
Once the gain is set, any adjustment on the gain control will also adjust any foldback, so leave it alone.
The main slider is your overall volume.
Set the amp volume to about 50% to start with and adjust as needed.