Buy used PA speakers or DIY?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, I recently became a member of the forum, I'm based in Belgium and I'm interested in all kinds of audio stuff and find there is a lot of information on this forum :) The reason I made this post is because I'm looking for 2-way PA speakers and want to either make them myself or buy used speakers. I'm new to this stuff and not in the business but already learned a lot and I have a technical background.

I want to have excellent sound quality as I am kind of a freak on that. The speakers will be used mostly for dj sets. Here's a list of the second hand options I found in my area:

EAW jfx 200 --- €400 a pair
Renkus-Heinz SR-5 --- €750 a pair + flightcase
Renkus-Heinz SR-7 --- €1100 a pair
Meyer Sound UPA 1 A --- €1750 a pair + controller + amp + flightcase for all

Which of these would be the best deal? I think the Meyers are the best speakers but they are quite old and the most expensive (that would be stretching my budget). I can't find a lot about the Renkus-Heinz and EAW speaker but they are supposed to be good brands? Nexo PS8 are also available at okay prices but I think they are not powerful enough? Are there other good options like some JBL's?

The other option is to build speakers myself but I don't know if I can get sound as good as the listed speakers for the same price and I think building a better/as good speaker as the Meyers is nearly impossible? For this I was looking at plans from driver manufacturers like 18sound, celestion, ...

The plan is to build Ricci's skram sub to go with them. So... build or buy? And which ones to build or buy?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Build or buy? Buy if you ever intend to sell later.

I like the Renkus-Heinz SR-7. It is a true point source, a 3 way that looks like a two way, similar to Yorkville Unity U15 or Lambda LAbs TX-3A.