Mc2 Mc450 help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I’m lookin for a bit of help with an Mc2 Mc450 amplifier that won’t power up.
It was working fine until I cleaned it inside with a can of compressed air.
Now it won’t power up, no lights or anything. The fuses are ok and power is reaching the circuit board.

I’ve very little electronics knowledge, so would appreciate if anyone can point me in the right direction. I have the schematic, but don’t really know how to test if each component is ok.

Thanks
Matt

The amp is digitally controlled, so none of the functions like mute and gain operate unless the amp is on.
The amp was off while cleaning.

I think I’ve found the problem, there’s a 2k7 resistor directly after where the neutral starts on the circuit board. It’s faulty, reading around 0.6ohm.

Thanks for the reply.

I brought the amplifier to an electronics repair and they managed to fix the amp, although it took them some time as each time they found a fault and repaired it, they would find another fault.

I don’t actually know what was broken in the end, but I suspect that the new fans I installed caused the problem due to the metal logo sticker in the centre of the fan touching positive and negative sides of the heat sink. I could see marks there on the heat sink where it had melted slightly from the arching.

Cheers
Matt

Did you resolve the issue? I've worked on many MC series amps so am quite familiar with them.
#H713
Hi,
I need help with a MC450 with an output of -108 / -165 mV DC offset. For analog input pcb 6023, I found a circuit diagram for 6025 but this is different from 6023.
Any idea where to adjust the DC offset? Or should I not deal with it?
THX! D '

Last edited: