Complete amateur looking for guidance

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings,

I am a member of a small veterans organization and we have recently acquired some audio equipment in order to provide music during our occasional events. I have been asked to assemble the items for use, however I've zero experience with audio equipment. Hopefully someone with the necessary background can assist me. I contacted one of the companies, however they did not seem very sure of the proper connections.

The items I have are a Pyle P3001AT, and 4 Nady MC8 Speakers. The speakers are 150w (75rms) 8ohm. The owners manual for the tuner states 8ohms, 1khz test 3000w x2. I realize the tuner is significantly more power than the speakers are designed for, however it is all we have and funds are tight. There are four connections on the rear A- L&R, and also B- L&R. I understand series versus parallel wiring, but am confused on where or which way to connect the speakers to the tuner.

Could someone please provide guidance for me so that I do not cause more harm than good? The Pyle rep stated that I should simply connect each of the four speakers to the four outputs. Is that correct?

Thanks to anyone who would be able to assist.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
The Nady are 4 ohm speakers, it's normally not a god idea to connect 2 per channel, as you'd then have a 2 ohm load.

But the Pyle amp is rated to drive 2 ohms so you should be good to go just connecting it all up. One speaker per output terminal.

But the Pyle amp is rated to drive 2 ohms so you should be good to go just connecting it all up. One speaker per output terminal.

Although I can't be sure, products in this (low) price range often claim 2 Ohm stability, while they're clearly not designed with such loads in mind.