Driver/Xover Replacement on an Old Cabinet

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am new to this hobby but I did some projects before but it did not sound as what I have expected. Well anyway I need someone's advice, I have an old cabinet with a measurment of W14 3/4, H40, D9 inches and the tweeter and midrange died on me. I'm still on the process of understanding the Xover. I saw on the connection their were 75V and a something uF capacitor with black thing it looks like mH. But anyway I wanted to redesign the Xover with a 12" woofer using 2nd order. Any suggestion is highly appreciated. I am going to fix my old speaker cabinet before planning to build my speaker projects.

Thanks,

Sonny

This comes up fairly regularly...unfortunately, the answer is always the same.
To properly mate a driver with a cabinet requires some homework. The most common method is to use the Thiele-Small parameters (these are the funky looking specs that are printed in the catalogs & websites) to calculate the size of the box needed for a given driver.
To run the process in reverse--attempt to find a driver that will work well in an existing box--might conceivably be possible, but it's not how I'd choose to spend the next month or two of my life.
Designing a crossover to go along with a given set of drivers is difficult even if you have the proper test equipment. Don't even consider the generic crossovers that claim to mate '8 ohm drivers' with a crossover at X frequency. That's about like trying to choose a wife for a stranger you just met and know nothing about. You might get lucky in your first outing as matchmaker, but the odds are very much against it.