Dalesford Bass Driver - Any suggestions for a replacement?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a pair of beloved speakers made by a company called Swallow Acoustics which seems to be virtually unheard of. I bought them with my first system in 1979 when they cost £300 and they have served me well for the past 27 years! Unfortunately the bass drive unit in the right hand speaker has developed a fault and will now only emit an occasional, unpleasant flatulant noise. The 6" driver was manufactured by a company called Dalesford of Pudsey (near Leeds) and I wondered if one of you knowledgable enthusiasts might be able to suggest a suitable replacement.

Also, as a complete novice, I would be interested in any advice about what might be the cause of the fault. Is it the drive unit or could it be a problem with the crossover components? As the speakers are unusable as they are I quite fancy having a go at upgrading and repairing them. Any suggestions?

I have e-mailed Wilmslow Audio to ask for their advice but have, as yet, failed to receive a reply.

Swallow Acoustics driver units...

Hi - I think that there is only you and I on this planet that has heard of Swallow Acoustics. I too have a pair of these speakers that are in daily use but several years ago one of my bass units was stuffed by my wife who is a full time technophobe, and that too developed the very unpleasant flatulence of which you speak. I bought a pair of new driver units but before they were delivered I discovered this place in Huddersfield who reconed the original Dalesford speaker.

Recone Lab
Victoria House
Victoria Street
Lockwood
Huddersfield
West Yorkshire
HD1 3RG United Kingdom

Telephone: 01484 549899

Fax: 01484 533038

e-mail: reconelabATloudspeakersonline.com

Speak to Mike Noble - MD or Ian Squired - Audio Engineer.