Newb. questions about cheap HT replacement speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I've been thinking about building some speakers for my front room, but I've never tried anything like this before, so I have some questions. Maybe one of you will be able to help me.

A while ago I bought an off-the-shelf home theatre in a box type of thing. Yes, it's not exactly hi-fi, but it was cheap, and easy to talk the wife into buying. I'm considering upgrading the speakers, because the ones we have are pretty crappy (especially the sub), and it seems like building my own would be both an interesting project and a way to get good quality sound on the cheap.

I'm not an expert DIYer by any means, but I'm reasonably handy with a saw and a soldering iron, I know some basic electronic theory, and I'm willing to learn.

I mainly use the system for movies and playing video games, not so much for music. I don't necessarily want a particularly loud system, but a decent bass response for all those explosions is a must. I don't want to replace the receiver if I don't have to.

Checking out some online shops, I found the following kits: the CSS ELF1.5s, and the DAYTON BR-1 from partsexpress.

http://www.creativesound.ca/details.php?model=ELF1.5HTBUN

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&PartNumber=300-640&DID=7

Of course I'd need a sub to go with these, and I was thinking about this 10" DLS model.

http://www.partsexpress.com//pe/sho...2&St3=74143274&DS_ID=3&Product_ID=15942&DID=7

I'm considering getting the sub and the Daytons to get a taste for the building procedure, as this would work out cheap for now, and I'm keen to get shot of my existing sub.

So to the point of this post.

1. Will my existing receiver be able to cope with new speakers? It delivers 100W per channel RMS, at 8 ohms, which appears to be OK, although I'm not clear on the requirements of the ELFs.