Mid-range Speaker Question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am very new to the DIY scene (car audio is my past experience which is not saying much), anyways I have read that tweeters don't really matter what type of enclosure they are in, also I have played with WinISD so I kind of understand the subwoofer end. But that leaves me to wonder how do you figure the midrange box size? Also on WinISD it appears most (if not all) subs can produce flat up to 1kHz? Is that right? Basicly I am just wondering about designing full range systems, be it with a stand alone sub or not.
Thanks,
David

A tweeter is basically in its own enclosure, and you needn't worry about volumes. It isn't a bad idea to seal it separately though, to keep the waves from the base drivers from effecting it. A midrange enclosure is designed in the same manner that a subwoofer enlosure is. Take a look at the T/S parameters, find the Vas, and there ya go. However, this may not be the exact enclosure size to suit your liking, but its basically what your looking at, aside from compensation for the bracing, stuffing, driver, etc.

And unfortunately, no, not all subs produce flat up to 1khz. Most, as a matter of fact, do not, especially those with larger cone diameters. This is one of the flaws of WinISD. And if your looking at a 12 or 15 inch driver that IS capable of producing up to 1khz, then it's likely to be on of the ugliest thing's you're going to hear. Just to give you an idea, the subs in my system are crossed over at about 40 hz. 1khz is definitely in the mid-driver frequency range.

Most "subwoofer" drivers have serious breakup by 400-500Hz, and are only usable up to 100-200Hz at best. If you are looking for something to cover up to the 1KHz range, you need a mid-woof capable of reproducing sound in (approx) the 70Hz-4000Hz range and using a crossover.