A little "legal" advice on a design similarity

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

A friend of the forum forwarded to me this site, whose proprietor has a patent pending on a design eerily similar to mine from a few years ago.

First, is his design lifted from mine? Is that even a pertinent question? His are a horn and a FR design; mine is neither.

What say those in the business? Should I pursue this or should I just be flattered?

Thanks,
Dave

Do you know for sure that he has actually submitted for a patent, or is the only clue that he says "Patent Pending" on his website? I'm by no means a lawyer, but I thought I remember being told once that sometimes people just put "Patent Pending" to try to ward off people from taking the design and patenting it.

-Scott

Hello.
I'm not an expert on this subject but:

First of all, you can check if he really made a patent demand. If it is the case, check the demand date . If you can prove that your design was published before, no problems, the patent should be refused I think, if you advise the patent agency. From what I understand, you cannot patent anything that has been published.

And check what part of this design is "patent pending". I'm not convinced at all that you can patent a tube transmission line, whatever the shape...

F

kneadle said:
First, is his design lifted from mine? Is that even a pertinent question? His are a horn and a FR design; mine is neither.

Dave,

I remember noticing your design when you posted it on this website and how similar it was to one of my test speakers from about 7 years ago. But it wasn't a full-range, using a Focal tweeter in a 'branch-pipe' off the main one.

But mine was also based on another design (a fixed diameter pipe design, like yours). Mine was a tapered TL (going from 10cm to 8 to 6 via standard fittings). It looks like the one you posted was an expanding TL.