Importance of VC inductance in drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a newbie, so don't flame me if I'm wrong. So how important is VC inductance in midrange drivers? I found that even in subwoofers, low VC inductance subs sound better than high inductance subs. It sounds "faster" since the cone can accellerate faster, since inductance would be the only factor that influences max acceleration of the driver (F=m*a -> (BL)*i=m*a -> but BL and m is constant so only i matters -> current i is limited by the voice coil inductance). Impulse response graphs seem to agree. Higher frequencies would require even higher cone accelleration so wouldn't the inductance have to be even lower?

Based on what I know, the two things to look for in selecting midrange drivers would be inductance and nonlinear distortion. Linear distortion is correctable using advanced techniques and dispersion is similar amongst drivers of same diameter, so we don't care about those. Anyone disagree with this? OK, linear distortion is not completely correctable since speakers are one electrical signal in -> many signals out, but correction should be good enough I think.