Newbie Question on tweaking Mission M71

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to DIY and am thinking of tweaking my Mission M71 bookshelf speaker. The speaker sounds quite harsh. I got it second hand and some ppl are suggesting that I should recap it. I'm new to all these so I'm here to ask for opinions from you gurus here. Please let me know what should be changed. Thanks for any help. Here are the details about the speaker:

Crossover
-------------
L1: ELYTONE 2000L.39
C1, C3 : ELYTONE 10uF +- 10% 63V NP
C2 : 5.0K 100V
R1, R2: 5W 2.2 Ohm JF

Enclosure type: 2way reflex loaded
Freq Response: +-3db 65Hz to 20kHz
Crossover Freq: 2.8Khz
Nominal impedance: 8 Ohm compatible
Recommended Amp: 25-75 W/ch

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I have opened the speaker box already. There were six screws at the back of the speaker holding the plastic panel with the terminals. The crossover is attached to the plastic panel. The felt inside is quite thick. It is about half an inch thick. I did not replace the felt. I have however tried replacing the capacitors (two in each box) with Solen caps. The change in sound is very noticeable. A small sound stage started to emerge. The music sounded more fluid. The bass tighter. Overall, the sound is more musical and dynamic. Some CD still sounded very bright but it is more bearable than before. I have only played them for less than 10 hours. I'm not sure how the sound will change further as I burn in more.