T+A T160E bass XO reverse engineered -> improvements?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First attempt to post the schematic of the bass XO:

Attachments

• t160e_xo.png
    t160e_xo.png
    1.6 KB · Views: 79
Ok, let's hope my picture is readable. L1, L2 and C1 form a classic 3rd order lowpass.

When the bass enhancement is activated, C2 is in series and L3 in parallel. This is actually another lowpass, so it cuts very low bass. I have not done the calculation, but I assume that C2 and L3 also result in a resonant enhancement, so weaker low bass is traded for stronger medium bass, right?

I have been using the bass enhancement for 5 years and never really tested the other setting for more than a few minutes. Having recognized that low base is cut and that another nasty cap is in the signal path, I switched back to the other sitting yesterday and am currently trying to decide if I like this better.

assuming bass enhancement is off...

...there is one shunt capacitor and e two ferrite inductors to deal with.

I think I am going to try using back-to-back polar caps and DC bias before considering buying film caps.

The inductors have a cylindrical ferrite core that looks like a spool of thread, i.e. it has an H-like cross-section, so the windings are not completely surrounded by ferrite.

CFC10 copper air coil has slightly higher resistance but is prohibitively expensive (70€ per inductor).

At www.intertechnik.de, I came accross I-bar (bar core) coils that have just the right resistance and are reasonably priced (<9E). This seems to be an air coil stuck onto a single straight rectangular sheet iron transformer core element. They claim very low distortion even at high power, 0.01-0.05% typ. third harmonic distortion. Actually, this is the only coil for which I have seen distortion values provided.