Crossover Design Basics

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Now that I have the money to begin another DIY speaker project, I think I'd like to venture off into the world of designing my own 2-way crossover, but I've never done it before. Can anyone suggest some good (preferably great :) sources of information regarding the basics of how to design crossovers (particularly first or second order)? Can anyone also suggest some freeware to aid me in designing the crossovers? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Bryan

Bryan,
You didn't specify whether you meant active or passive. The below is mainly oriented towards active, but large chunks of it are appropriate for passive crossovers, too.
First order crossovers are trivial:

F=1/(2*PI*R*C)

Where:
F= frequency
PI= 3.14159
R= resistance in ohms
C= capacitance in Farads (mF= F*10**-6, pF= F*10**-12)

Nuthin' to it. (Except for passive crossovers where you've got to take into account the inductance of the voice coil, etc.)
Okay, now second order...ugh. Can of worms time. Second order crossovers don't sum to unity, i.e. take 2, split it into 1 and 1, now add them back together. 1+1 no longer equals 2. 2nd order crossovers also invert phase.
Third order crossovers are phase correct, and sum pretty close to unity. Not a bad choice.
Forth order is two second order crossover sections, with all the attendant problems.
Fifth and above...don't go there.
That does it for the standard Butterworth crossovers, but only opens the game. There are about ninety-nine other crossover functions out there. Unless you want to have a nervous breakdown, there are only two that need concern you. Linkwitz-Riley and Bessel. Linkwitz-Riley crossovers take the ugliness out of even-order (i.e. 2nd & 4th) crossovers. Bessel function crossovers are nifty because they're minimum phase shift.