Lower section of tower using Magnum 12

Hello. I'm new to the his forum and have very little diy audio experience other than car audio in my younger days. I'm currently working on a project that involves building the bass section of an almost full range 3 way tower. I'll be using a pair of Emotiva B1+ bookshelf speakers on top of the new bass section. Also using a Mini Dsp 2X4 hd for crossover and eq. Each side will house a Denovo Magnum 12 woofer in a 2 cubic ft vented enclosure tuned to 36 hz. My crossover point will be somewhere between 200 and 300 hz. Has anyone on this site experimented with tuning these particular woofers? Any suggestions on what damping material works well for this type of enclosure. A little more extension wouldn't bother me but my priority is to have tight articulate bass for 2 channel critical listening.

I have not played with that driver.

I find articulate bass has more to do with integration (mid highs crossover), but i do prefer 27hz tuning over 40hz (thunk smoothes out to boom) with sub or deep woofers.

That denovo is not a cheap woof, but high power, 3" coil, i like what i see.

Not the deepest bass ( .34 qts and 42hz fs), but with eq at 50hz (many receivers have bass tone control at 50hz nowadays), i enjoy my 12" 2-way that has ported f9 near 50hz (fs 52hz and qts .32).

A friend said my 2x12" 27hz ported was quicker than his 10's sealed.
Tight bass can also be a lack of low bass.
I sealed my deep 2x15" 2-way for sealed f3 60hz vs ported at / f3 of 27hz.
Sealed wasn't faster, just an octave less bass..............sad face

So, don't expect rumble with that 12, but deep punch if eq'd, sure.

I can crunch numbers sunday, but f3 may be 60+ hz.

Since you are crossing 2-300hz, i wouldnt mess with dampening.

For me, if i was going 3 way, i would aim for less sensitivity and a deeper f3 so i wouldnt desire a sub.

But get back to us and good luck with your projects !!!

Last edited: