Infinite Baffle. Best bet if possible?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm having a house built and the upstairs loft will become a theater. Which means I'll have the entire attic above me.

So I'm thinking the best best (and least intrusive) would be to do an infinite baffle system.

I'm thinking 4 Dayton IB 15" and a 250W plate amp should be plenty....this would be for a 15'x20' or so entertainment room.

WinISD shows these should hit about a 24Hz F3 with 100+CuFt of air behind them, which the attic should do no problem.

So is infinite baffle the best way to get effortless bass? It would definently have non parrallel walls in the enclosure :D . I'd probably do (at least) a 24dB low pass at 80Hz or so.

heres the room so far :)

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Hi

Well im no expert but it definately seems like plan to me :)
Also because of the such low qts it may be a good candidate for linkwitz transform (or equivilent)

One thing that does spring to mind however is the air leakage between the 2 rooms, because the enclosure is so damn big im reasonably sure the effect will be reduced considerably, but maybe someone who actually knows something should comment on this?

I'm having a house built and the upstairs loft will become a theater
Mmmm custom house, customised for audio! I think u are living everyone on this forums dream :eek:

Cheers, Nik

This is a perfect candidate for an Archectural Horn (15HZ to 80HZ).

Example:

It could be tucked into the right corner -- two of its sides being the roof corner. It downfiring mouth could be 3' x 10'. Its length would be 18'. IMO you would have the HOLY GRAIL of subwoofers and everyone on this forum would hate you :D