Help with a small portable bluetooth speaker

Hi everyone,
I'm an absolute beginner with the idea to build a small portable bluetooth speaker and I'd appreciate some input on my ideas!

These are my tentative specifications:

• very portable: around 1l net volume
  • mono (I assume one bigger driver is better than two small ones?)
  • 2-way
  • vented
  • casual listening to music and watching movies
  • bluetooth and Aux input
  • battery powered
  • USB chargeable
  • overall budget up to around A$150. Flexible if there is a good reason.

First of all, I've read in other threads that it's difficult to achieve similar sound quality / range to commercial products, as they use DSPs.
Is that true? I would like to get somewhat comparable results from my speaker.

I was thinking a 2-way, with a mid-/fullrange and a tweeter. I assume higher sensitivity is preferable as it's battery powered? Any suggestions for combos?

As far as I know vented speakers can be smaller and can produce lower frequencies. My personal (unqualified) choice would be a passive radiator, mostly because of looks but also because it can be even smaller than ported. I'm happy to use a port as well though, if it brings advantages.

I'd probably use plywood for the enclosure, how thick would it need to be for a small speaker like this?

That's pretty much where I'm at, I'd love to hear your opinions and ideas!!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Here's a small boombox that I made. It uses a stereo amp module, and a pair of 3.5" coax car audio speakers. (not mono) Rear panel is removeable.

There are a lot of options for amp module boards to choose from (mono, stereo, 2.1, bluetooth, rechargeable batteries, etc.), and kit packages with everything you need for your own custom assembly. Dayton (PE), Sure, etc. are some to look at.

Happy building!

Attachments

• miniboom_front.jpg
    miniboom_front.jpg
    154.9 KB · Views: 253
  • miniboom_done.jpg
    miniboom_done.jpg
    126.6 KB · Views: 244