small, cheap DIY speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi folks,

I've seen the Gale speakers 3010s and 3020
( http://www.gale.co.uk/loudspeakers.html )
and they seemed to do the job for kitchen speakers at US$80 each.
However, being a DIY'er, I thought it would be possible to do something yourself, and have the fun of it, too!
The main criteria is: small and cheap. Second is the sound.

I'm new to speakers, but with the aspects provided above, I figure it shouldn't get too complicated!?

Any suggestions?

Jennice

Thank you for your suggestions, guys! :)

The nearest place for these units is in Germany (southern neighbour to Denmark, where I live). I've contacted them and await their pricing info. Now all I can do is wait patiently... like when my g/f starts looking in a clothing shop. :D

Jennice

I have excellent experience with with Visaton FRS8 in a sealed 1,3 litre box. Not much bass (surprise, surprise!), but what is there, is OK, especially if you can (want?) use some bass boost. Extremely listenable, after a short break in.

The best part is the price, as opposed to the TBands, which are outrageously expensive in Europe (well, at lest compared to Canada or US).

Andrej

Visaton FR10 4 Ohm, 2 br pipes 16mm internal dia 7cm long in a 20*20*11.8cm box with 12 mm wall (2,96 liters)

No filter required if your source can do a little equalizing, else a simple notch is preferred
minibox_small.jpg

I paid less than 7€ for the speakers(each) from a local supplier and they sound very good

Sorry for the late reply

The fronts are 13 mm hardwood (brazilian cabawara) The rest is 12 mm meranti multiplex with 12 mm cabawara edges, three braces make the box pritty stiff and relatively uncolored.