New Build.......XT25 & 830875

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All,

It has been quite some time since I wanted to make this bookshelf design. I chose the Vifa XT-25 and paired it with the 4ohm version of the Peerless 830875 which is the 830510. I cannot find much info on the mids, but went with what I could find.

Since this is my first "from scratch" build I wanted to keep it simple to start with and go from there if needed. So the XO is just a paralleled pair of caps totaling 15.7uf connected in series with the positive side of the tweeter. With the specs on the tweeter imp being 3.4ohms & the mid being 3.85ohms that should give me a XO at approximately 3000Hz.

They sound pretty good, but I have very little experience "voicing" speakers.

I have no testing setup, but instead want to try and help these be as nice as possible without getting too involved in "testing", if possible. I do have more than a handful of parts to mix, match, and swap out for listening tests to help me develop the crossover as I go, but I simply lack direct experience to start jumping just yet.

They are installed in the now discontinued Dayton Curved Enclosures with replaceable baffles. They are a sturdy design with some heft to them. I also added polyfil to the cabinets that are NOT vented. They are being driven by a Denon AVR-X4500H set to 4ohm and everything seems fine so far.

Any thoughts on what I have done so far? Am I missing something or have I done something to this point that could be destructive to the drivers? Again, this is my first set from scratch so I do not want to do anything stupid that will damage them. I have intentionally kept the volume low until I hear some feedback.

Cheers,

David

IMG_7022.jpg

IMG_7024.jpg

They look smart.