New active Satori Textreme

I was reading through the Hypex fusion amp mega thread
The New Hypex Fusion Plate amps

I think I now know why I had to adjust my driver levels based on direct measurement (i.e. why my simulation driver levels did not match reality)... In the Hypex software, levels are set in dB referenced to the maximum output of the amp. The woofer and the mid amps are both 250 W, but the tweeter amp is 100 W.

This means that "0" dB on the woofer and mid will be 4 dB higher drive voltage than "0" dB on the tweeter.

I now remember fussing over this fact last year, but it must have gotten flushed down the brain drain at some point...

When it comes to passive crossovers, I am not an expert. Far from it.

But I find the process interesting, and now that I have a good working simulation of my system, I gave it a shot.

Attached is a passive crossover for the MW16TX-4 and the TW29TXN-B. Using passive components, I matched the target responses of the two drivers. The result is a 1.6 kHz crossover with 4th order acoustic slopes. I was surprised that 3rd order electrical topology would generate 4th order slopes on both the woofer and tweeter, but it did.

The purple "magenta" line is the simulation from my active system. The only real differences are at the extremes. The bass response of the 2 way is obviously limited in comparison to the active system's 12 inch woofer. At high end, you can see that on the active system I used some EQ above 12 kHz to flatten out the response a bit.

The passive system as it stands would need a subwoofer, but it would be ideal for that application. The MW16TX-4 in a 12 liter sealed box has an Fc of about 75 Hz, so subwoofer integration should be easy.

Alternatively, the box could be increased to about 20 liters, and then vented to an Fb tuning frequency of 36 Hz. This would give an F3 of about 40 Hz and an F9 of about 30 Hz.

I have no intention of building this, but it is an interesting exercise.

Attachments