First-Timer Home Theater Speaker Build

Hello all,

I am new to threads and being in an online community. But in my pursuit of a home theater speaker build, I have so many questions.
For a little background, I have a degree in Audio Engineering Technology from Purdue University. I am not new to audio projects at all, but I mainly have dealt with electronics, not acoustics. I recently took a speaker building class and learned great fundamentals, but I would like to know all about the speaker building process in more depth.
So, that is why I have purchased the Loudspeaker Design Cookbook, Intro to Loudspeaker Design, and Designing, Building, and Testing Your Own Speaker System.
While all these books have great and needed information, I am getting lost in the amount of info and have lost where my direction is. I am wondering if you all have any set of steps to follow for the design process, because I feel like I am getting way too ahead of myself.
For example, I am doing matching tower speakers for the front L/R. But all free simulation softwares, e.g. WinISD, tell me that a box with a lot of volume such as a tower is too much and will have significant peaks around the resonant frequency. But also, what about waveguides? I've seen so many different design for the inside of a tower speaker, but no analysis on them to really understand the concept. These are just a few of questions I cannot find answers to.
I know I am probably being vague and confusing, but once I get my direction in this I will have more specific questions and conversational points to bring up. Don't wanna dump too much on anyone at once haha.

I have attached my CAD drawings, which were made to show my brother how they will aesthetically look when they finished. For reference for you all as well.

Anyways, I would greatly appreciate any support and help in where to start in the mathematical side of design.

Thank you.

Attachments

• Tower Assembly Drawing v1.pdf
    121.5 KB · Views: 446