Portable hifi speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to diy speakers, only starting down this rabbit hole a week or so ago. I want to build a high end portable bluetooth boombox. Something that will wow me and my family that I can bring along when we go on trips or parties.

This is my list so far
Monoprice Premium Bluetooth 5 Transmitter & Receiver- for the bluetooth
minidsp 2x4 hd - using it as crossover
ICEpower 50ASX2SE - for the tweeter and midrange
ICEpower 125ASX2 - for the woofer

Drivers
ScanSpeak 15W/8530K-00 - midrange
ScanSpeak Illuminator D3004/6040-00 or the be version if that is worth the extra 200$
not exactly sure what woofer to get

Currently considering passive radiators or ported but not entirely sure what the advantages and disadvantages are. Also considering just using a predesigned center speaker and modifying it somewhat to make it bluetooth and portable.

Are you sure you want to spend for state of the art drivers for a portable BT speaker where everything you work into such a design makes it a less than optimal music source?

1- stereo separation will be nill
2- left and right driver isolation will likely not be easy
3- most listening is done off-axis rather than at/in an optimal location
4- weight of items intended will be heavy
5- sensitivity of drivers intended will sap lots of power with somewhat low output compared to others
6- BT, MP3, and other streaming services are likely lower bit-rate than the comparable hi-res files, CDs, or the like. Garbage in = garbage out.

Think of it this way- save some money and make it more mid-fi to not expect the best and be disappointed. Most of these kinds of projects are more of an ambient-noise/background-noise or musicblaster.

You should use drivers that are more sensitive to not require so much power, as well as durable materials for outdoor usage. A metal grill is likely a good idea.