Rework old Mitsubishi ss2100 towers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been given a pair of Mitsubishi ss2100, they don't sound very good, 3 way 3" tweeter, 4-4.5" mid, and 10-12" Woofer each no markings on backs of magnets, no damping no crossover ( just 2 unidentified Caps at input) no port, I'm basically a noob been since 1979 last worked on speakers, I want to upgrade, new tweeters, mids add damping, ports? and crossovers, no exact dimension yet roughly 42" tall 14" wide 10-12" deep, no baffles! any ideas? Going to power from Tubelab SSE, 4-15 watts.

no damping no crossover ( just 2 unidentified Caps at input)

That's a crossover...not an elaborated one, but it crosses over one driver to another.
You would want to eliminate the mechanical crossover ( the natural bandpass behavior of a driver ) and filter each driver, eh?
You will lose some efficiency since you'll eliminate the tailsof each driver ( not considering the highpass of the woofer and the treble limit of the tweeter) that contribute to the overall emission.
The woofer needs some lowpass...That's the basics for starting...

That's a crossover...not an elaborated one, but it crosses over one driver to another.
You would want to eliminate the mechanical crossover ( the natural bandpass behavior of a driver ) and filter each driver, eh?
You will lose some efficiency since you'll eliminate the tailsof each driver ( not considering the highpass of the woofer and the treble limit of the tweeter) that contribute to the overall emission.
The woofer needs some lowpass...That's the basics for starting...

I'm looking at changing tweeter, Mid and maybe woofer in each one, this is one of the prebuilt crossovers I'm looking at (Eminence PXB3:5K0 3-Way Speaker Crossover Board 500/5,000 Hz)

Sorry but it doesn't work like that...I mean, you want to make a speaker from scratch, so why putting the ss2100 in the title? :p