Using sound absorption to reduce standing waves

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2019
Yes, there is merit in all you have said. I have used test tones, sweeps, etc. already; just not with a microphone or measuring tools. Having said that; as a former musician; I have a very keen ear for what sounds right. Many of my family and close friends are also musicians; practicing even now. I am also a retired Engineer and Technician so I know and fully understand the value of valid testing and measuring. I asked my brother to listen critically to several test tracks while I made changes to my woofer X/O. He isn't technical at all so had no clue what I was up to. He is one of the current musicians I mention though and he and I both agreed on the exact same set-up as sounding the "most real" and "natural".

It has been 20+ years ago but I once had a calibrated microphone and access to very high quality, laboratory grade electronic test and measurement equipment. What I am JUST NOW getting into is all of the free and in-expensive software packages and tools available "these days".

I will do some "blind A/B/X" testing with these musicians; I will know what is going on but they will not. This takes MY personal bias out of the equation entirely!

Cheers!

diyAudio Moderator
Joined 2008
Paid Member
33Polkhigh said:
iirc when a sound wave hits a soft surface like foam there is an impedance change that creates a backwave.
We know doing it the other way has problems. Technically nothing 'hits' the stuffing because the driver is already up against it. Its effect would be continuous, simply a different load.
Centered maybe the best spot since placing a driver at the end of a pipe will give the most standing waves.
This is going to give you two half length pipes. The full length mode won't eventuate. There will still be modes like before, they will be pushed up in frequency.