Froy Seas MK3 and the studio monitors quest

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I'm an aspiring audio engineer who's got into DIY speaker building more and more lately. I currently have Neumann KH80DSP that I'd like to replace by DIY speakers.

I'm thinking of building Froy Seas MK3, but I'm having second thoughts after reading that the crossover could be better. Price of the tweeters are another problem too. I already bought 2 Seas W15CY001 second hand.

As other DIYers, I'm always curious for tweaks and alternatives. Filtering and sealed/ported enclosures are my main concerns. So here are those questions :

1. Can I go sealed ? With a sub, it'd help those 5" cones do the best midrange possible, right ?
  2. What damping should I use ? Do bitumen pads affect the overall volume ? Is sonofil enough (as seen in lautsprechershop.de kit)
  3. Would I get significantly better performance (especially concerning THD and transient response) with DSP filtering compared to passive crossover ? I know this question is too general to be answered. So here's the comparison : DSP combo would be FusionAmp or PWR-ICE and passive combo would be Audiophonics Ncore + Topping D10 + Madisonspeaker Froy MK3 crossover
  4. Do I ask myself too many questions about speakers when I'm in the shower ? 🤔
All the best from France

The Froy might work for a monitor, as it's pretty upfront and forward sounding. It's also very detailed and revealing. But personally I never cared for it for normal listening, because I found the sound fatiguing over time. It would probably be a good platform for an active design. The drivers are all very good.

If you've already bought a pair of SEAS W15CY001, and find the Froy TF25CF002 tweeters too expensive, what else can you do but build these?

SEAS 5INCH