Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Adding 2 more drivers to an arleady finished speaker/crossover
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th February 2020, 03:49 AM   #1
synaps is offline synaps
diyAudio Member

Default Adding 2 more drivers to an arleady finished speaker/crossover

Hello everyone, first of all, i would like to apologise for my bad english
This is my first post here, i'm really new in speaker building.
My current speakers are the following: WWMT
-Dayton RS225-4
-Satori MR13PNW-8
-Tymphany DA25TX00-08

Passive crossover, the woofer/midrange cross point is at 600hz. The woofers and mid/tw cabinet is internally separated. Now what i was thinking is to transform them in a WWMTWW configuration (think of Triangle Magellan Cello vs Magellan Grande Concerto). Basically to add on top of the speaker another woofers section. The current woofers are the 4ohm version so i was thinking about two rs225 (8 ohm model) wired in parallel on top and two down. The thing that really worries me is the 5 dB difference between the two models. Would it work? Any ideas and help would be much appreciated.
Old 15th February 2020, 05:35 AM   #2
googlyone is offline googlyone  Australia
diyAudio Member

Anything can be "made" to work after a fashion.

The questions you are going to have to address are
-1- is it worth the effort?

-2- does it give you a benefit over what you have?

I don't know your speakers. As a wild generalisation though, if there is something about the bass that worries you, adding an extra pair of otherwise similar drivers is not likely to make a big difference.

If it is the timbre of sound, the old drivers will be there still. If it is lack of bass, same issue.