Can compression drivers sound "high end" home fi ? Vortex 15 ?

Well ... I'm thinking about buying a Vortex coaxial speaker kit. But I have ZERO experience with compression tweeters. Can they sound as good as a Hiquifon, or an AirCirc, etc ?
Or what exactly should a person expect from a Vortex speaker system. I have cash in hand, but need info.

Vortex 15

Well ... I'm thinking about buying a Vortex coaxial speaker kit. But I have ZERO experience with compression tweeters. Can they sound as good as a Hiquifon, or an AirCirc, etc ?
Or what exactly should a person expect from a Vortex speaker system. I have cash in hand, but need info.

Flaxxer ask the designer Matt over on the DIYSG website. I've been thinking of buying a set of these, but not for chest pounding anything. Just because I think they might work well in a unique space I have.

Also, per your original, but very tough goal....look at Acoustic Elegance TD series woofers. Especially the M.

I’ve been eyeballing these same kits and considered suggesting them on your other thread. I’m already using a pair of 2-ways with waveguide & compression drivers for HF; I think the treble sounds crisp and clear with a wide sweet spot. Listening to dome tweeters takes some re-adjusting for me. While the vortex is not a waveguide (strictly speaking), the LF cone is definitely being used as one in these speakers. Constant directivity may or may not be a priority for you; it is for me and in that regard the polar response on these coaxials is pretty damn good.

Another reason I find these kits tempting is because a number of 60s/70s albums were mixed on 15” coaxials (Abbey Road) so this is a great way to recapture that in-the-studio fidelity some of us are after.