HB1 alternative tweeter with Vifa M21(?)

Hello guys,

Disclosure: I know next to nothing about speaker design. (Ive only ever added BSC and Zobels to full range drivers.) I'm only starting to learn about it really. I may make a lot of wrong conclusions or attributions so bear with me.

I refurbished an old pair of Heybrook HB1 last year and have been listening to them since. For me, it sounds very good at low to moderate level. Louder, it gets bright and male vocals take on, what i describe as, a subtle 'electronic' tone. Ive tried different amps and it sounds best with an F4, with what I have, as that cranks up gracefully.

I've attributed this, I thought, to the old tweeters and started looking for an alternative tweak perhaps. I also went to look at the specs of the M21 and the HB1 (speakers before my time)... The M21's graph response looks close to a bass woofer's to me and Heybrook crosses the tweeter at 4khz?? Shows really what I dont know or understand about crossover points...

Now I'm thinking that the 'male voice funkiness' I'm picking up is the the cone break up or xover perhaps (someone correct me). This then has got me thinking of whether its worth looking for tweeters that can cross lower than the original vifa D25, from say 2k-2.5khz LR2 to keep simple. Am I thinking about this the right way?

The M21 are new production, not refoamed. It looks like they were used by Snell and JPW as well. Where did the other designers choose to cross along that graph?

Anyway, thoughts and recommendations please.

A 4KHz crossover point is clearly not optimal for the woofer as it already beams at this frequency, but I don't think there is a breakup problem, as in this respect the woofer seems controlled.