Crossover design question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I'm a noob when it comes to crossover designs, I currently built a speaker system, using a 12" fullrange driver 8ohm, a compression horn rated at 20ohm, and a tweeter rated at 4 ohm, for the horn I have a 1uf cap, and for the tweeter a 2uf cap, I'm wondering why is it that when I have the capacitors in the circuit and check the overall ohms with my multimeter it only seems the full ranges 8ohms impedence and not the other 2? Also what is the best way to connect these all together?parallel? Series? Or mixing both?

I'm connecting them to a 8ohm tube amplifier, sounds amazing But don't know if I have them connected correct am afraid I will ruin amp.. any help will be very much appreciated

Attachments

• IMG_20190306_205809.jpg
    IMG_20190306_205809.jpg
    459.3 KB · Views: 221
Joined 2011
A meter only tests for DC resistance, not AC impedance.

The horn needs a second order high pass (a series C and a shunt L), instead
of the first order (just a series C). This system should be a parallel crossover,
each driver and its crossover components go separately to the amplifier.

Last edited:
Hi I'm a noob when it comes to crossover designs, I currently built a speaker system, using a 12" fullrange driver 8ohm, a compression horn rated at 20ohm, and a tweeter rated at 4 ohm, for the horn I have a 1uf cap, and for the tweeter a 2uf cap, I'm wondering why is it that when I have the capacitors in the circuit and check the overall ohms with my multimeter it only seems the full ranges 8ohms impedence and not the other 2? Also what is the best way to connect these all together?parallel? Series? Or mixing both?

I'm connecting them to a 8ohm tube amplifier, sounds amazing But don't know if I have them connected correct am afraid I will ruin amp.. any help will be very much appreciated