How to tame your diffractions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

I do see here quite regularly threads about diffraction but, respectfully, I have the impression that sometimes there is not enough understanding about diffractions. I am no expert either but I spent quite some time researching and simulating on this matter and I think I can share some thoughts which may be helpful.

I dont want this thread to be about the fundamental physical background of diffractions, I dont want it to be about the design of a specific cabinet and I also dont aim to make a new tool to calculate diffractions. There are already plenty.

Instead it should be about a general understanding of cause and effect regarding diffractions. I want to describe what can be expected from different measures to tame diffractions for proper sound reproduction.

I already have to apologize here because this will become quite a wall of text but at least there will be some pictures.

How to calculate diffractions
For a better understanding I think its best to start to explain how software like The Edge simulates diffractions. I am not affiliated with the software in any way so I cant say anything about the details, only how this works in general. The input for such a simulation may look like this.

attachment.php