2.1 stereo console, need crossover advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I am pretty new to designing crossovers, and want to make a stereo console. The idea is to have separate L, R channel speakers for mids and highs and single L+R subwoofer for both channels. Something like 2.1 computer speakers, just in one box and powered by simple stereo (2 channel, no separate subwoofer output) amplifier.

Schematics and view is attached.

Need advice how crossover will differ from 2.0 2way system.

Can I attach woofer like shown or do Í need something extra?

Willing to read, so if there is a good link about passive 2.1 systems - tanks in advance for sharing.

Attachments

• console_face-ld130-la-boite-concept.jpg
    console_face-ld130-la-boite-concept.jpg
    49.8 KB · Views: 135
  • stereo_console.png
    stereo_console.png
    14.8 KB · Views: 140
Don't take my answer to be definitive, but I think it won't work. The problem is that you want to mix L+R signals at power level into a single driver. The only way to do this should be with a dual voice coil woofer.
Besides that a passive crossover at around 100Hz is simply a non sense, as it will be very expensive and won't work as you expect.
So the best way to do what you want is to put L+R line level output into a plate amp with adjustable digital crossover (in frequency and phase), with a sub powered output that will go straight to the sub and two "satellite" output. If the latter ones are powered they will go to the speakers, if not they will go to a stereo amp. You then need to design the tweeter/mid crossover.

Ralf

Don't take my answer to be definitive, but I think it won't work. The problem is that you want to mix L+R signals at power level into a single driver. The only way to do this should be with a dual voice coil woofer.