corian or concrete?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello

i am quite new to this ball game and could use some basic info.
so far i have seen that just about everyone uses mdf of some relitive in there cabinet construction, exept if you go all the way to the wilson line and find that they are casting thers out of corian.this casting approach is very appealing but the cost of polyester resin is not.

i have heard others talking of the deadness of a mateirial or it's stability.this i can kind of understand,but is there a way to measure it.if i knock on a corian counter it feels dead but if i knock on a chunk of concrete it feels much deader,so why not cast cabinets out of something like concrete.

i fully realize that this could be a very boring question with a very simple answer,please enlighten me.

thank you

Hi Yosh,

DIYers have cast speaker cabinets out of concrete quite a few times. Concrete is hardly ever used by commercial manufacturers because of the weight and associated shipping costs. Bespoke concrete cabinet makers appear from time to time but serve only their local areas. Last one I came across was in Wales.

James

is the weight the only problem with a concrete like material or does it have some overwhelming shortcoming.like i said before i like the idea of casting one piece cabinets (myself having allot of experience in mold making and concrete) but the time involved in making the mold would be great.could concrete being full of bentonite just like corian make it suitable substitute.