Freq measurements and Hypex Filter Design adjustments

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thanks Juhazi. Yes I'm there now, but as I'm no electrical engineer I'm experimenting with caution so as not to blow a tweeter or amp.

Well I've re done the nearfield for Woofer and Mid and got more logical results.

I was told how to mute the channels. As when I ticked the Mute box the channel did not stay muted, I disconnected the cables for Mid and tweeter channels. Perhaps the Hypex Dlcp or amps did not like that???

Anyway to mute a Channel you have to reduce its Gain to -96db. Not via Mute button! I don't know whether I have ever read that in the instructions and I cannot read minds!!

So I attach better looking freq responses for Woofer and Mid (not scaled because different volume settings) and no filters.

Attachments

• Woofer1smooth.jpg
    Woofer1smooth.jpg
    448.7 KB · Views: 238
  • Woofer24smooth.JPG
    Woofer24smooth.JPG
    519.8 KB · Views: 262
  • Mid1smooth.JPG
    Mid1smooth.JPG
    442.7 KB · Views: 241
  • Mid24smooth.JPG
    Mid24smooth.JPG
    504.5 KB · Views: 257
So I attach better looking freq responses for Woofer and Mid (not scaled because different volume settings) and no filters.

Good job! That looks much more realistic.

You did include the phase on the screen, but you are using absolute phase and this includes the phase lag from the propagation delay. This is fine, but the phase wraps many, many times, making it difficult to learn much by looking at it. If you select "Minimum Phase" from the View (I think that is the name) menu in that screen the wrapping will be removed.

The woofer response looks fine for a 15" in a closed box. The hump up near 1kHz is probably some cone breakup. You can flatten the lower part of the response using DSP EQ to adjust the tonal balance of the upper bass.