Testing compression drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am building some loudspeakers and have chosen to use compression drivers on horns for the HF section.

I'm new to testing loudspeakers and have been using REW with a calibrated microphone.

I'm getting some odd results that see to be to good to be correct??

Attached are two pics of distortion tests run on the two drivers on their horns. Do the distortion values not seem over optimistically low to you? I know the frequency response isn't great but I will be using FIR EQ to correct that.

I dont have and other CD's to compare with, what are your thoughts on this?

Thank you in advance for any comments or wisdom you may be able to share.

Alex

Attachments

• BM446+STH100-1.jpg
    BM446+STH100-1.jpg
    128.3 KB · Views: 301
  • BM446+STH100-2.jpg
    BM446+STH100-2.jpg
    129.5 KB · Views: 292
I'm getting some odd results that see to be to good to be correct??

Attached are two pics of distortion tests run on the two drivers on their horns. Do the distortion values not seem over optimistically low to you? I know the frequency response isn't great but I will be using FIR EQ to correct that.

I dont have and other CD's to compare with, what are your thoughts on this?
Alex,

If the SPL level is correct, and your mic was one meter from the horn mouth, the test level was at perhaps 1/10th to 1/20th of one watt, at that level of input those low values of THD would be fairly typical for a decent compression horn driver.

Art

Hi,

Thank you Kipman and Art, so as you both elude to I'm guessing the measurement power was not enough. I had adjusted volume to be at about the 94dB @1m.

I will retest with 2.83v@1m should be about 110dB and post results. Should I set voltage using a 1KHz sine wave?

Thanks for sharing the knowledge, I'm loving learning about all of this.

Alex

ICG

Disabled Account
Joined 2007