Redesigning my cabinets. Thoughts?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.

ICG

Disabled Account
Joined 2007
Maybe think and make sure it isn't nonsense before you say something. First of all these are plate ams designed to be mounted in the speaker cabinet, that's kind of the entire point of a plate amplifier. Though obviously it isn't designed to be part of the outer wall of the cabinet, it has vents in it, and obviously isn't any rigid. Which is why I put it in its own chamber. I think this was pretty obvious already because I think I probably mentioned the "amplifier chamhttps://www.youtube.com/ber" before in this thread and I think it's pretty self-explanatory it should be in it's own chamber anyway. It has literally been in the design from the start.

Come on, do you think I'm stupid? I graduated literally yesterday.

You certainly are not stupid. Some seemingly logical combinations can easily mislead you. However, you are not wrong in this case at all. But stupidity or intelligence should not be confused with little/less experience in some sectors. And you can't think of all and everything since some things actually need said experience.
I would like to suggest a change of the amp mounting. Most plate amps got elements sticking out of the front plate. That means, if your amp does and you move the speakers, the first thing on the back hitting anything are the stick-out plugs, potentiometer(s) etc. and that will damage your plate amp. That can easily be avoided. So it's a very good idea to not mount it flush with the enclosure but to recess it about that far the farthest extended part of the plate amp is protected. You could also achieve that by mounting a strip of hard wood at the edges of the amp opening or similar but it will ofcourse not look that good and is easily spotted.

ICG

Disabled Account
Joined 2007