Dayton DS315-8 12" woofer box

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,
I lately was gifted a pair of wood horn with built in drivers and a pair of 12" bass driver - Dayton DS315-8. As of my friend, I only have to build a pair of box for the woofer and it's good to go. The horn's cut off at 400hz.
I'm a complete newbie on speaker design and or crossover design. I'd like to build a pair of 3cu.ft. vented box and tune to 30hz if possible. I love bass, smooth bass. I want the box height around 28-30" so to sit the wood horn right on top. I figure the size around 12"w x 16"D x 28"H but don't know if it is a good reasonable proportion. Please don't hesitate to give any valuable ideas and advices that you can think of.
Thanks in advance
Albert

I've been cruising around the forums and found some more informations that might be suit to my application. Members suggested to run this speaker in a 1.9 - 2.2 cu.ft ID tuned to 37f3. I come up with the number 11" x 15" x 23" ID = 2.196 cu.ft.
Do I have to add on the speaker displacement and the bracing on top of those numbers?
Regards
Albert

Normally internal displacement of driver and any port or other hardware are subtracted from the internal volume (its the air that acts as the spring in the resonant system after all). Adding accoustic wadding effectively enlarges the volume a bit though, so you can maybe just assume one will cancel the other roughly.

Normally internal displacement of driver and any port or other hardware are subtracted from the internal volume (its the air that acts as the spring in the resonant system after all). Adding accoustic wadding effectively enlarges the volume a bit though, so you can maybe just assume one will cancel the other roughly.

Does it mean I just go for the size as is ?

The metal frame diameter of the DS315 is 12.4"
You probably mixed D&W: 12"D x 16"W x 28"H

What are the dimensions of your horn?