Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

2-way active - Looking for peer critique
2-way active - Looking for peer critique
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th April 2019, 02:11 PM   #1
Arnandsway is offline Arnandsway  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Default 2-way active - Looking for peer critique

Hi all,

I opened this thread for anyone to have a look at my design choices and help me in the process in designing my first speaker. Any tips, critique and support is welcome as I am new to this and learning every day.

The monitor should have the following design parameters:
  • Usable for near-field monitoring (1-2 meters)
  • Constant directivity
  • Active XO + bi-amping
  • Low XO point (~1,5 khz)
  • Small woofer-to-tweeter distance
  • Sealed enclosure, for easy integration with subs later on and great transient respons
  • F3 around 60-70 hz
  • Enclosure made out of 25 mm MDF or HDF
  • Budget total max €1000 for the pair
To achieve these goals I have come to the conclusion I want to use these parts:
  • Tweeter: SB Acoustics SB26ADC + 5" elliptical 3D-printed WG made by Augerpro. (can be found here Open source Waveguides for CNC & 3D printing!)
  • Woofer: still unsure so advice is welcome. Right now choice is between Dayton RS180-4 (great for sealed but high 3rd harmonic distortion) or the SB Acoustics SB17NBAC-4 (not great for sealed and f3 goal, but great other parameters.)
  • Hypex FA122 plate amp for digital XO and amp.
  • Enclosure volume ~16L (could change depending on woofer choice).
  • For measuring: a MiniDSP UMIK-1.
For simulating the box enclosure I use UniBox and BoxSim 2.0.