2-way active - Looking for peer critique

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I opened this thread for anyone to have a look at my design choices and help me in the process in designing my first speaker. Any tips, critique and support is welcome as I am new to this and learning every day.

The monitor should have the following design parameters:

• Usable for near-field monitoring (1-2 meters)
  • Constant directivity
  • Active XO + bi-amping
  • Low XO point (~1,5 khz)
  • Small woofer-to-tweeter distance
  • Sealed enclosure, for easy integration with subs later on and great transient respons
  • F3 around 60-70 hz
  • Enclosure made out of 25 mm MDF or HDF
  • Budget total max €1000 for the pair
To achieve these goals I have come to the conclusion I want to use these parts:

• Tweeter: SB Acoustics SB26ADC + 5" elliptical 3D-printed WG made by Augerpro. (can be found here Open source Waveguides for CNC & 3D printing!)
  • Woofer: still unsure so advice is welcome. Right now choice is between Dayton RS180-4 (great for sealed but high 3rd harmonic distortion) or the SB Acoustics SB17NBAC-4 (not great for sealed and f3 goal, but great other parameters.)
  • Hypex FA122 plate amp for digital XO and amp.
  • Enclosure volume ~16L (could change depending on woofer choice).
  • For measuring: a MiniDSP UMIK-1.
For simulating the box enclosure I use UniBox and BoxSim 2.0.

So right now my progress is slowed down by not being able to find the right woofer for my design goals.

After this I would need to know how to properly measure my speaker and set the perfect XO-point. I know there are multiple software-programmes available for this: REW, RePhase and ARTA. I am not familiair with this so I will have to dive deeper into this. Any practical guides or tutorials are welcome.

Hopefully some of you are willing to help. Thanks in advance :).