Woofer and configuration selection

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi to all diy members here....

I lurked this forum for a few months now, before deciding to suscribe as a member....

I'm a newbie in this world..... having only a sub building project under my belt.... project that I'm pretty proud of.....

I never heard such a great sub in stores... in my area... :D

Obviously I had asked many dumbs questions on some HT forums, and then I bought the "Loudspeaker Cookbook" and d/l some sims programs and play with them a lot before making my mind...

The good result leads me to step up the difficulty to some full range enclosures.....:knight: ...to replace older Paradigm 7se

by the way those who like to see the sub can follow this link:

http://community.webshots.com/album/123013201KaNAzy

so for my next project, I picked the Vifa XT25 for tweeter, based on reviews I've read on the net and stepping on the opportunity to own these at a very good price (long story).... so now I'm still trying to figure what should be the best configuration and selection for matching woofer(s)

For now I tend to lean for an MTM configuration..... for the so called efficiency gain.... but I'm also a bit intimidated at the work ahead as I nearly didn't know nothing about crossover..... :bawling:

I also like the Ken Perkins Nebula or the Thomas W Tibor...
as they are already made project with proven crossover design....

I've made some preliminar seach... with budget in mind, look, power handling, Fs etc.... sure a pair of Seas W18E00 would be great but too expensive for my knowledge....