Is it possible to cover the whole spectrum, high SPL, low distortion with a 2-way?

It was pointed out (and to my uneducated brain make a bit of sense) that the crossover points are right in the middle of the critical range of hearing. It might be harder to cross nicely. Also I havent seen any reviews yet that give it a significant advantage (Im no expert so my statements are also questions...).
The 4594 seems to me as a well used option that I will also have more people/owners to ask for help.

BMS seems to be easy to cross 650 to 6500 (6.3k or something) so right on the critical range. no? Ro808 I believe pointed out some good things about the 464 but I might be to novice to get, i have to confess.
BMS goes easily higher to 20k (probably a minor detail for most)

The 464's overlap between the diaphragms is its strongpoint. Compared to some of the BMS coaxials the output of both diaphragms is more even, so a nice handover would be easier to realize. Mark100 did compare the B&C to the BMS and stated he had to get used to the lower XO point of the B&C.

I've heard the 4594Nd in the big Danley Synergies and have to admit they sound rather nice, at least for PA.

Moreover, the crappy magnet coating of every BMS driver deteriorates quickly due to oxidation. After a short period of time your expensive drivers will look old and abused. It's a shame, even though it doesn't affect performance.

Last edited:
Peter Morris' comment on the DCX464:

"The DCX464 is a much newer design and I suspect they have improved a few things, especially the distortion levels. I also suspect it will make more SPL and go slightly lower. The mid / hi crossover has some overlap so it easier to get this area to work well.

The VHF does not go quite as high as the BMS4594, but so far it sounds more natural, in fact more natural (with Lake processing) than anything I have ever heard! ... but I am yet to use it in anger."

Attachments

• 464 pic2.jpg
    464 pic2.jpg
    131.3 KB · Views: 362