Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Is it possible to cover the whole spectrum, high spl, low distortion with a 2-way?
Is it possible to cover the whole spectrum, high spl, low distortion with a 2-way?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th November 2019, 06:10 AM   #4411
camplo is offline camplo
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robh3606 View Post
I am no expert but it can't be simply a matter of length if so how do you explain the "loading" in shallow waveguides like the PT's or M2?
Because they lie. They take advantage of the fact that for non pa, loading isn't usually a factor. Loading "should" be a length of 1/2WL or better, but you'll see products going 1/4th and smaller. Kinda like posting measurements for an amp thats 1000watts without specifying if its rms or max or in what ohms. They also sell the 8" woofer to 1" tweeter two way.

Last edited by camplo; 18th November 2019 at 06:18 AM.
Old 18th November 2019, 06:16 AM   #4412
Ro808 is offline Ro808  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robh3606 View Post
I am no expert but it can't be simply a matter of length if so how do you explain the "loading" in shallow waveguides like the PT's or M2? They are only a couples of inches deep. 3.25" for a PTH1010. With a large format driver you can get a very usable 800-900Hz crossover point.

Rob
It's still is a matter of axial length, even for the M2 waveguide.
Charles Prinkle came up with some clever solutions to 'mimic' a deeper horn in a shallow waveguide.
The function of the M2's knuckles is somewhat similar to the mumps in the Klipsch K510 shown previously.