Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Is it possible to cover the whole spectrum, high spl, low distortion with a 2-way?
Is it possible to cover the whole spectrum, high spl, low distortion with a 2-way?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st September 2019, 11:04 AM   #3201
daemonsgr is offline daemonsgr  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

It was pointed out (and to my uneducated brain make a bit of sense) that the crossover points are right in the middle of the critical range of hearing. It might be harder to cross nicely. Also I havent seen any reviews yet that give it a significant advantage (Im no expert so my statements are also questions...).
The 4594 seems to me as a well used option that I will also have more people/owners to ask for help.

BMS seems to be easy to cross 650 to 6500 (6.3k or something) so right on the critical range. no? Ro808 I believe pointed out some good things about the 464 but I might be to novice to get, i have to confess.
BMS goes easily higher to 20k (probably a minor detail for most)
Old 21st September 2019, 05:15 PM   #3202
Ro808 is offline Ro808  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

The 464's overlap between the diaphragms is its strongpoint. Compared to some of the BMS coaxials the output of both diaphragms is more even, so a nice handover would be easier to realize. Mark100 did compare the B&C to the BMS and stated he had to get used to the lower XO point of the B&C.

I've heard the 4594Nd in the big Danley Synergies and have to admit they sound rather nice, at least for PA.