Need help - w/ QSC HPR152i Clone based 2-way

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So I'm new to speaker design and am hoping fellow forum members can assist with a simple 2-way build.

I have built several speaker kits to date, but have never designed anything on my own and thought I try my hand at something (hopefully) simple:

I have the following parts on hand:

Waveguide B-52 PHRN-1014: B-52 PHRN-1014 1" Horn 10" x 14" Bolt-On

Based on posts on other threads, many indicate this might be a clone of the NLA QSC HPR152i

For Compression Driver, I have the following Tymphany DFM-2535R00-08

Now, I have the following questions:

1) When taking measurements of the WG + driver, is there is a need to include a series capacitor to protect the CD? I'm not measuring at loud volumes on anything. I should have asked this question before, but I ended up taking a few measurements already.

2) If the answer to the above question is "Yes" - would it not impact the measured phase? I'm currently measure using ARTA's semi-dual method. If I use a 50uf or 80uf - it seems to impact the response (albeit slightly). How does one typically account for the impact of the protection capacitor on the measured response and phase, when one gets to the crossover design stage.

I've attached a couple of measurements, one showing the impact of including a protection capacitor, and the other showing the off-axis response to 60 degrees. - Please disregard the SPL Magnitude - I didn't take these measurements at 110db.

Lastly, I'm looking for (mid-) woofer recommendation. Don't want to spend too much since it's my first go. So far, I have $25 for the waveguides and $80 for the CDs. I'm budgeting $200 for the woofers.