3-way studio monitor design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear Diyaudio community,
I'm currently working on a project for a 3-way monitoring system for mixing and mastering and I'm looking for some advice.
I mix and master mainly acoustic and classical music. I currently work with lipinski 707 + diy subs that I will keep, but have to go surround and 3 more lipinski are out of my budget.

The speakers will be amplified with hypex fusion amp, so crossover will be very flexible, and I have the possibility to do measures in a well sounding room.
I've build successfully two different designs from Troels Gravesen that turned out well, so I've some little experience.

My budget is 700€/speaker maximum. I would like to have sealed speakers, I'm used to this kind of sound.

The driver that I've selected are:
tweeter: Scan-speak R2604/832000 with modded WG-300 waveguides (adaptors and cut to have them 1cm closer to the mid unit)
low-mid: Scan-speak 15W/4424G00
woofer: Dayton audio RSS210HF-4

I'll start experimenting on crossover at 250Hz and 2.2kHz
The internal dimensions of the enclosure will be 50x20x23cm
There will be a separation that gives around 15 litres for the woofer and 3 litres for the mid.
Drivers, heavy bracing and plate amps take the rest to reach the 23 litres total.

I’m thinking at a WTM configuration, primarily for the reason that’s is simpler to separate de enclosure for the midwoofer and maybe for less diffraction.

What are your opinion on this choice?
Would it be a good idea to do an asymmetrical or particular shape of internal mid compartment to minimise resonances and back reflections?

Do you see any problems on this design?

Images are front panel design, and W and M drivers with the volumes i'd like to use.

Thank you very much, kind regards

Enrico

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 21.28.07.png
    Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 21.28.07.png