2-way computer speaker project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm designing a 2.0 speaker set (2-way) to use in my office, as computer speakers. I've looked around for a small woofer that can deliver low frequencies and yet can be contained in a fairly small case.

I'm very new to designing speakers (never done it) and have only had a few evenings to read about crossover design, box design etc. Therefore I'm interested to hear what you guys have to say about my design so far.

The woofer I decided to use is the Dayton Audio ND65-8 2-1/2" Full-Range Driver. It seems to be a good size, can reach low-ish frequencies and does not require a very large case. According to specs on Soundimports.eu the optimum vented case should be 0.05ft3 (about 1.4liters) at which their calculations can reach 55Hz. It also has a lot of great reviews.

I looked around for a tweeter to go with the woofer, and found the Dayton Audio AMT Mini-8 which to me seems like a nice match with frequencies up to 4kHz, beond human ears capabilities. It also has great reviews, and looks fairly nice and "exotic" to me since I only own speakers with domes and horns. Would be fun to try out something different.

After reading reviews of the two speakers, and a few forum threads, I'm thinking of setting the crossover at 6000Hz. Normally, from what I understand, a tweeters crossover should be Fs*2. I've read that AMT tweeters dont need the same crossover calculation, but from the spec sheet graphs on the woofer it seems like a nice enough frequency to do the swich on.

I've used some online calculators for the crossover, and tried to mach that as closely as I can with the components available at Soundimports.

These are my results:
First order 2-way crossover
C1= 3.3125µF (3.3µF available)
L1= 0.2123mH (0.2mH available aircore)

L-pad (to bring down the tweeter sensitivity):