My first build and i want to do something near impossible i think ...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
NPower ! what a beautiful speaker !!

Something has sparked my interest though, how did you make the flared horn to the left of the speaker ? Do you make the petals with a flair and then angle the edges ? Its a shape i just can't get my head around fabricating ...

thank you

Thanks Meshach

Well I'm not an expert and I don't want hijack your thread, but maybe I can give you some advice.

in fact, the petals were made with a mold and consist of three layers of 3 mm MDF.
The mold follows the Tractrix curve and has a 30 degree aperture. With these 30 degrees, I angle the edges (12 petals x 30 deg = 360 deg).
To assemble the 12 petals I use another rig.

What kind of crossover you intend to use (active / passive ) ??
Did you already saw "Volvotreter" web page ?
I think a lot of good advice's there.
Just keep us informed !

Attachments

• thumbnail_IMG_20190116_120034 (2).jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_20190116_120034 (2).jpg
    144.5 KB · Views: 224
  • thumbnail_IMG_20190116_120245 (2).jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_20190116_120245 (2).jpg
    135.6 KB · Views: 226
  • thumbnail_IMG_20190116_120133 (2).jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_20190116_120133 (2).jpg
    115.3 KB · Views: 223
MEH - Multiple Entry Horns like the Synergy from Danley Sound produce coherent controlled directivity over a wide frequency range. There are several threads on DIY wood synergy horns covering different size and coverage patterns. You will also find DIY MEHs using the fiberglass SEOS-24 and SEOS-30, and ABS plastic 30" Klipsch K-402 horn with excellent measurements. Coaxial compression drivers like the BMS 4592-ND further simplify construction.

MEH meet your size and performance goals -- with a step forward in technology.

SEOS waveguides at Auto-Tech website
SEOS-24 - Horns by Auto-Tech