A little addition to multiway crossovers a la Linkwitz: multi-cascading

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First of all.......
It took some time, about a year, before I was confident enough for posting this. You might view it as a small addition to Linkwitz' work.

This idea I will share here because of a couple of things:
- Sharing is caring!
- I want everybody to be able to enjoy what I have enjoyed.
- If it is implemented more, the hardware (DSP etc) will become better suited for the topology, and therefore more people might enjoy it.

The problem...............
There always was something for me in a 2-way, that a 3-way (or more) couldn't do, sound wise. It might have measured quite OK, but something about a 2-way sounded a bit more... correct in a way? Better stereo image? Difficult to put a finger on when I started playing with crossovers.
Anyhow, just like there are people who only like fullrange, there are people who like 2-ways. 3-ways have been called 'difficult to do right' and 4-way or more 'virtually impossible' by some. When I started my 6-way project a couple of years ago, people thought I was insane. I might be to some degree but in my struggle I have tackled a problem that also exists in 3 and 4-way designs.

Investigating the "problem"....
To keep it simple, we will stick with LR filtering. You might however, find that the general idea of the solution might apply to other types of filters too.
If you take a look on this page you might notice that shifting crossovers close together creates a problem in the response. As Linkwitz put it:
xo_topo-typicals.png

Not a flat response... It'll look like this:
24xo-parallel-s.png

And Linkwitz provided a few possible solutions for it, like adjusting the level of the effected channels:
24xo-parallel-comp-s.png

Or like cascading the filter:
xo_topo-improved-s.png

Which results in the following response:
24xo-cascaded-s.png